top of page

Rain or Shine, Mud or Dust

Bonjour tout le monde!

I don’t know know how it happened, but it is already Monday again. This week flew by. Elder Mongo and I walked and taught a lot this week. One of my favorite lessons was on Friday with an ami we have been teaching for a little bit. This week we taught him the word of wisdom, and I don’t know if I know anyone who has ever accepted it so easily. He plays football for one of cameroons professional leaugues so apparently he already didn’t drink or do drugs or any of that stuff. He said he could easily stop drinking coffee and tea, and in general he was super excited to have this commandment. To him he will do whatever it takes to “run and not be weary” and to “walk and not faint”. He is also going to play soccer with us next time we have a district activity, which will be awesome.

One aspect of this mission that I am still getting used to is the rain. I thought I was going to love it, and I still do, but I did not realize how difficult it makes missionary work. For the most part of our amis the roofs of their houses are only made of tin, so when the rain comes it hits the roof so hard and becomes too loud to hear anything. We were at an ami’s house and we started before the rain but right as we were about to explain the celestrial kingdom and eternel life, the rain came pouring down. We decided to stop there because we were already yelling and he couldn’t understand anything we were saying. On sunday there was a huge storm and the only people at church at 9 when it was supposed to start were the branch president and us two missionaries. Everyone was stuck at home because of the storm. Luckily it died down enough and we started at 10 with a few members. The rain makes life extra interesting, but I'll get used to it. I am grateful for the rain though because it really cools everything down. The days after a huge storm are perfect for the most part except for the mud. We get to come back to the apartment with an extra 5 pounds attatched to our feet. My companion laughs a lot because I am terrible at walking in the mud. Sometimes its worse than ice with how slippery it is. Luckily I havent fallen yet.

Anyways I really hope you guys all have a great week. Congradulations to all of you back at home who got your calls! I am super excited for you! I know that missionary work is truly God’s work. HE is the one that really does everything. We are just there to walk around in the rain and mud and bring the spirit to our investigators. He is the one who does the talking and changing. I have seen soo many blessings because of my decision to serve and I know that Heavenly Father is always there watching, protecting, and guiding his missionaries.

Work Hard! Je vous aime tous.

Elder Scoffield

Pictures

1. This is Ivan. He is the son of an amie that we teach. He has been one of my best friends since I got here. I got to participate when we was blessed the second week of my mission. His mom will be baptized as soon as she gets married.

2. Selfie with Ivan.

3. Elder Hall and I got ready to go out to church in the rain. I have been in the same apartment with Elder Hall from the MTC to now. He is a super awesome missionary and it is his birthday today, so we are going to go celebrate later!!

4.My breakfast sandwhich that we eat everyday. We call it the BIG HALL. Elder Hall started it by splitting into 3 parts of bread with plantains in one section and eggs in the other and covered in mayonaise. There is also my banana flavored drinkable yogurt and my banana.

5. He was looking at me funny so I chopped him into pieces, boiled him, fried him, and ate him with fufu.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page